On Mars

Game Details
NameOn Mars (2020)
ComplexityHeavy [4.66]
BGG Rank51 [8.24]
Player Count1-4
Designer(s)Vital Lacerda
Artist(s)Ian O'Toole
Publisher(s)Eagle-Gryphon Games, Angry Lion Games, Arclight, Delta Vision Publishing, Giochix.it, hobbity.eu, Korea Boardgames Co., Ltd., Lavka Games, Maldito Games, Mosaico Jogos, Skellig Games, TLAMA games and YOKA Games
Mechanism(s)Closed Drafting, Contracts, Delayed Purchase, End Game Bonuses, Hand Management, Hexagon Grid, Income, Movement Points, Moving Multiple Units, Set Collection, Solo / Solitaire Game, Tech Trees / Tech Tracks, Tile Placement, Variable Phase Order and Worker Placement

Participants

  • Mark – Winner
  • Curtis
  • Alain
  • Robert

Rules we Missed

  • Building complexes using executive actions on blueprint cards: The corresponding tech must exist on someone’s board in order to build or increase the size of a complex. If the existing tech’s level is toolow to build a complex of the desired size, you can boost it by sending colonists to the working area.
  • If you develop only 1 tile twice, treat each of the movements separately.
  • If you gain a discovery or research tile, resolve it immediately by paying any associated cost, then place it in your play area (put Discovery tiles face down).

BGG Clarifications

  • When 2 players have the appropriate tech tile, the player who uses the tile chooses who gets the benefit
  • If a tech tile is used twice on the same turn, the owner gets two oxygen

Photo

Final Thoughts

Like all of Vital Lacerda’s games, this game has a learning curve. The rules take a while to learn, but they all make sense and seem logical as play progresses. This is a long game but turns can be quick, since you can take one action and one executive action each turn That said, the best turns are ones that can string multiple actions together by moving tech tiles or completing your personal goal. As someone who also likes The Gallerist, I would recommend this game.

Tapestry Playthrough

Game Details
NameTapestry (2019)
ComplexityMedium [2.91]
BGG Rank255 [7.45]
Player Count (Recommended)1-5 (1-4)
Designer(s)Jamey Stegmaier
Artist(s)Andrew Bosley and Rom Brown
Publisher(s)Stonemaier Games, 999 Games, Albi, Angry Lion Games, Arclight, Delta Vision Publishing, Feuerland Spiele, Ghenos Games, Lavka Games, Ludofy Creative, Maldito Games, Matagot, PHALANX and Surfin' Meeple
Mechanism(s)Area Majority / Influence, Contracts, Dice Rolling, Events, Grid Coverage, Hand Management, Hexagon Grid, Income, Map Addition, Once-Per-Game Abilities, Open Drafting, Push Your Luck, Solo / Solitaire Game, Square Grid, Take That, Tech Trees / Tech Tracks, Tile Placement, Variable Player Powers and Variable Set-up

Rules we Missed

  • First player to complete an era gets a resource
  • Some technology cards have a requirement that your neighbor has a specified technology

BGG Clarifications

Photo

Black Angel Play Through

Game Details
NameBlack Angel (2019)
ComplexityMedium Heavy [3.86]
BGG Rank702 [7.34]
Player Count1-4
Designer(s)Sébastien Dujardin, Xavier Georges and Alain Orban
Artist(s)Sébastien Dujardin, Xavier Georges, Ian O'Toole and Alain Orban
Publisher(s)Pearl Games, Asmodee, CrowD Games, Galápagos Jogos, Hobby Japan, Maldito Games, Rebel Sp. z o.o. and sternenschimmermeer
Mechanism(s)Bias, Dice Rolling, Hand Management, Slide/Push, Solo / Solitaire Game, Tile Placement, Variable Set-up and Worker Placement with Dice Workers

What did we miss

  • You can change the color of die. Draw a card of the original color. I think the only way to do this is using a tech tile.
  • It is enough to “own” a Mission Card in order to activate it, you don’t need to have a ship there. From page 10: “If you choose to activate a card with an activation mission, you must respect the following conditions … You must have a robot or ship on this card.”
  • After taking an Advanced Technology tile, immediately replace it with a new tile from the deck.
  • When an Advanced Technology tile is ejected, immediately place it on one of the 3 Advanced Technology spaces on your player board (limit 1 tile per space). The space you choose determines the maximum VP this Advanced Technology tile can earn during end game scoring. This maximum starts at 4 VP, but each of your Mission cards that are ejected from the Space board that you place beside this space increases this maximum by 2 VP. Each Advanced Technology tile not ejected at the end of the game, and each Advanced Technology tile that is ejected after all 3 spaces are occupied by tiles can earn you a maximum of only 4 VP at the end of the game.
  • If you can not pay the cost of a ravager card, you can sacrifice a victory point
  • Each hex can only accommodate up to 2 different player’s Ships.
  • f you must place 1 Damage cube on a damaged action (an action which already has 2 Damage cubes), you must place the cube on a die in the same-color supply. This die is damaged! If during Sequence B, you must roll a damaged die, you lose 1 VP, and the Damage cube returns to the supply. Damaged dice are only ever found in the supplies
  • When the endgame is triggered, finish the round in progress, then play a final round. During this final round, if you are required to perform Sequence B, you can instead simply pass (but only in this final round!). Even if there are still dice in players’ compartments, the game ends after this final round

Some FAQs from BGG

This is more of a clarification for the Neutralization mission card

– When the card ejects, the owner of the card receives the benefits listed on the left, while everyone with a ship docked on the card receives the benefits listed on the right. This means if the owner still has his/her ship docked on the card then they will receive the benefits listed on both sides of the card. IF the card only has one space for benefits listed (not split to left and right) then the owner and everyone with a ship there receives the benefits listed and the owner only gets the benefits once, i.e. the owners docked ship doesn’t provide any extra benefit of still being there, therefor this is one reason for the above question “Can you move ships off mission card?”.

Can you activate a mission card you control without having a ship there?

– I believe the answer is yes, I haven’t seen a clarification on this but I am not sure there needs to be one. The rules state, “You must have a robot or ship on this card.”

See: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2243008/moving-zero-black-angel-and-not-placing-mission-ca

Videos

Boardgames for everyone